MP seeks new Castle Hill seat

HAWKESBURY MP Ray Williams will stand for  the redrawn Castle Hill state  electorate.

Castle Hill MP Dominic Perrottet said: ‘‘It has been an honour to represent the people of Castle Hill ...  and I intend to continue to do so’’.

The next state election is in 2015.

Mr Williams said Mr Perrottet  was  ‘‘quite within his rights” to recontest.

He  said it was  ‘‘very unfortunate’’ the seat of Castle Hill had been broken up four  ways  in  a  NSW Electoral Commission redistribution.

Click here to see a map.

The evening-up of voters in each of the 93 electoral districts was required under legislation. 

The Castle Hill electorate moves north into more rural areas, the Hawkesbury electorate trends south-west, Baulkham Hills electorate  extends  to the east and Hornsby electorate gains more of the northern portions of the Hornsby Council area.

Click here for past coverage.

‘‘About 85 per cent of the area of the new electorate of Castle Hill is in the electorate I currently represent,’’ Mr Williams said.

Asked if he supported Mr Williams’s decision, Premier Barry O’Farrell referred the News to the Liberal Party office.

He  did not comment on whether a constituency swap was considered, whether the Hawkesbury seat was being vacated for anyone in particular, of if he had discussed with Mr Perrottet the idea of standing in another seat.

Click here to view all the determined boundary maps, as of September 2013.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide