Steve Russell confirmed as Hornsby mayor

Steve Russell has edged out incumbent Nick Berman for the role of Hornsby Council mayor.

The results for The Hills Council have not been finalised.

Mr Russell served as councillor last term and also during 1999 to 2004.

He told the News he would like to see a master plan for Hornsby west side to encourage jobs and business activity.

He said his priorities in the next term would be reducing council waste, improving council efficiency and making it a more user-friendly organisation.

Elected councillors for Hornsby are:

A Ward

■ Nathan Tilbury — Liberal

■ Mick Gallagher — independent

■ Antony Anisse — Liberal

B Ward

■Nick Berman — independent

■Robert Browne — Liberal

■Gurdeep Singh — Liberal

C Ward

■ Michael Hutchence — Liberal

■Jerome Cox — Liberal

■Bernadette Azizi — independent

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide